Honour And The Sword (The Chevalier, #1)

Honour And The Sword (The Chevalier, #1) It Is 1636 The Height Of The Thirty Years War, One Of The Bloodiest And Most Destructive Conflicts Europe Has Ever Seen As The Campaigning Season Begins, The Spanish Armies Swell Out Of The Artois Region Of The Netherlands Flooding Into King Louis XIII S France.The Sleepy Border Village Of Dax En Roi Stands In Their Way Facing The Overwhelming Might Of The Spanish Forces, The Chevalier De Roland Rallies A Valiant Defence, But In Vain His Household Guard No Match For The Invaders There Is Only One Survivor As The Roland Estate Is Razed To The Ground, One Soul Who Escapes The Spanish Brutality The Lone Heir To The Roland Name, The Son, A Young Boy By The Name Of Andr De Roland, The New Sieur Of Dax.Upon This Young Nobleman S Shoulders All Hope Lies He Alone Must Bear The Honour Of The Roland Name And, With It, The Fate Of His People. One of the great joys of having set up the Historical Writers Association is that I am being sent a lot of books I wouldn t otherwise read A great many recently have been entrants for the HWA Goldsboro Prize for Debut Historical Fiction and for obvious reasons, I can t review them here yet when the winner has been announced, I may well do And then there are the books that are simply sent by thoughtful publicists who want to bring their authors to my attention Such was the package that arri One of the great joys of having set up the Historical Writers Association is that I am being sent a lot of books I wouldn t otherwise read A great many recently have been entrants for the HWA Goldsboro Prize for Debut Historical Fiction and for obvious reasons, I can
A really good read Well written and characters well developed Only drawback for me was the book was narrated by several characters and I found it difficult to engage in the story through the eyes of the main character because of this
Honour and the Sword had a lot of potential, but it never really pulled it off The constant jumping between points of views every couple of pages, if not faster, especially in fight scenes made it really difficult to get into the story first you get one point of view, then the POV is switched and another person goes back in time a bit, tells their point of view
What could I possibly say about this book, besides the fact that this is one of the best books I ve read in a long time It was wonderfully written, masterful even The characters were unique and their personalities remained true throughout the story They had such depth to them The book is written with several characters narrating their accounts, each told in first person POV I loved the way this was done because it gave me a better understanding of each of the characters I loved each of the What could I possibly say about this book, besides the fact that this is one of the best books I ve read in a long time It was wonderfully written, masterful even The characters were unique and their personalities remained true throughout the story They had such depth to them The book is written with several characters narrating their accounts, each told in first person POV I loved the way this was done because it gave me a better understanding of each of the characters I loved each of them view spoiler except for Destrada s man hide spoiler I would highly recommend the audiobook narrated by Jonathan Oliver He brings the stories to life and narrates each character so that their personalities shine through I d say that one of the things I loved so much about the book was his narration Many people found the forma
The title of the book Honour and the Sword is the shortest summary you can get which includes all you get.In the tradition of Alxandre Dumas, Honour and the Sword offers with Andr de Roland the French answer to Robin Hood Enter a time where honour was something completely different and the rapier the weapon of the nobleman.Remember the time when you read first Robin Hood and The Three Musketeers You can t turn back the time but instead you can read Honour and the Sword and feel young agai The title of the book Honour and the Sword is the shortest summary you can get which includes all you get.In the tradition of Alxandre Dumas, Honour and the Sword offers with Andr de Roland the French answer to Robin Hood Enter a time where honour was something completely different and the rapier the weapon of the nobleman.Remember the time when you read first Robin Hood and The Three Musketeers You can t turn back the time but instead you can read Honour and the Sword and feel young again.Read my full review over a Edi s Book Lighthouse.I gave five stars due to following reasons An excellent description of the concept of Honour in 17th century great description of the impact of the Thirty Years War on a small community loveable characters yo
ESTRADAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA Very occasionally, as a reader, you have the wonderful sensation of finding a book that might have been written especially for you It feels as though the author has looked into your head, seen all your favourite things and put pen to paper with an indulgent sigh of, Oh, go on then And this book did that for me It s a rip roaring old fashioned adventure story set in France in the early 17th century, full of courage, loyalty, duels, romance, dastardly Spaniards, impossible odds, hair s breadt Very occasionally, as a reader, you have the wonderful sensation of finding a book that might have been written especially for you It feels as though the author has looked into your head, seen all your favourite things and put pen to paper with an indu
One of my beefs with publishers is that in their efforts to put authors and their novels into boxes with a distinct label they can sell they actually deceive readers Fatal really as readers buying a book in the expectation that it is a particular genre style read, but find it is not like the blurb at all, tend to bin the book and vow never to read that author again A.L Berridge s book Honour and the Sword has a title, cover and blurb which led readers to expect a jolly, all chaps together One of my beefs with publishers is that in their efforts to put authors and their novels into boxes with a distinct label they can sell they actually deceive readers Fatal really as readers buying a book in the expectation that it is a particular genre style read, but find it is not like the blurb at all, tend to bin the book and vow never to read that author again A.L Berridge s book Honour and the Sword has a title, cover and blurb which led readers to expec
Jeez, where to start I enjoyed this it s a long book and poorly typset but I read it in maybe a day and it was a pretty good time Well paced, interesting characters, and the action scenes are great It s hard to write a good swordfight, and Berridge manages a bunch BUT But I have some problems It s set during the Thirty Years War there s a province on the French border that is occupied by the Spanish army, and the book is ostensibly about the local lord and his rebel army All right, Jeez, where to start I enjoyed this it s a long book and poorly typset but I read it in maybe a day and it was a pretty good time Well paced, interesting characters, and the action scenes are great It s hard to write a good swordfight, and Berridge manages a bunch BUT But I have some problems It s set during the Thirty Years War there s a province on the French border that is occupied by the Spanish army, and the book is ostensibly about the local lord and his rebel army All right, but mostly the rebel army spends huge amounts of their time hunting down and or thwarting rapists A worthy goal, to be sure, but let me tell you how much I love the plot Lady is raped Man who loves her experience

[ EPUB ] ✰ Honour And The Sword (The Chevalier, #1)  Author A.L. Berridge – Rarefishingbooks.co.uk
  • Paperback
  • 630 pages
  • Honour And The Sword (The Chevalier, #1)
  • A.L. Berridge
  • English
  • 03 June 2019
  • 0718155467