Windhome

Windhome Earth Has Sent Out Exploratory Expeditions In A Desperate Attempt To Discover The Nature Of The Alien Force That Wiped Out At Least One Extrasolar Civilization And Now Threatens Earth Itself One Of The Exploratory Starships Is Stealth Attacked By The Hostile Aliens The Survivors, Marooned Among The Pre Technological Inhabitants Of The Icy World Of Windhome, Struggle To Survive, To Understand This Harsh World And Its Few, Grim People And, Somehow, To Fulfill Their Mission Thrown Into An Unwilling Alliance With A Windhome Outsider Faction, Exiled Into Wilderness, Two Of The Human Crew Must Live By This World S Bitter Laws, Accept The Ways Of Its People And Eventually Make A Terrifying Choice. A novel of first contact in the tradition of Ursula K LeGuin and Eleanor Arnason, Kristin Landon s Windhome is a character focused study of what happens when three humans, last survivors of an expedition find themselves on a cold and very alien planet Landon does an excellent job making the native Anokothu farthan rubber headed a